The Spirit of Charity Foundation

Foundation Board of Trustees

  • Juzar Ali, MD
  • Jack Andonie, MD
  • Warren Bell, Jr.
  • Joseph Biundo, Jr., MD
  • Bennett deBoisblanc, MD
  • Damon Dietrich, MD - Secretary/Treasurer
  • Sally Duplantier
  • Paul Friedlander, MD
  • D. Luke Glancy, MD
  • L. Lee Hamm, III, MD
  • Edward Helm, MD
  • Larry Hollier, MD - Ex Officio
  • Frank Incaprera, MD - President
  • Myra Kleinpeter, MD
  • Neal Kling
  • Sally Knight, DrPH
  • Steve Nelson, MD - Ex Officio
  • ​Donna Richardson
  • Raoul Rodriguez, MD
  • Gene Sausse, Jr.
  • Malcolm Schwarzenbach, III
  • Jessica Waguespack
  • Harold Weis

Defining Quality

  • Joint Commission National Quality Approval Award
    The Gold Seal of Approval® is a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to providing safe and effective patient care.
  • American College of Surgeons: Verified Trauma Center
    The Norman E. McSwain, Jr, MD, Spirit of Charity Trauma Center only verified Level 1 Trauma Center in South Louisiana.
  • City Business - Best Places to Work
    The Comprehensive Pulmonary Hypertension Center (CPHC) at University Medical Center New Orleans was awarded top-tier accreditation from the Pulmonary Hypertension Association (PHA).
  • PHA Center of Comprehensive Care Award
    University Medical Center New Orleans is an Advanced Primary Stroke Center with a full stroke team on call 24/7 to immediately care for patients with stroke symptoms.
  • American Heart Association and American Stroke Association Primary Stroke Center
  • Commission on Cancer Accedited Program logo
    The American Heart Association/American Stroke Association award recognizes the hospital’s commitment and success ensuring that stroke patients receive the most appropriate treatment according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence.
  • Commission on Cancer Accedited Program logo
    University Medical Center has been designated an Antimicrobial Stewardship Center of Excellence by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (ISDA).