The Spirit of Charity Foundation

2021 Spirit of Charity Award

Raju Thomas, MD

This year we honor Dr. Raju Thomas, the Professor and Chair of the Department of Urology at Tulane University School of Medicine. Since 1998, we have presented the award to a physician whose career began or was nurtured in the healing and teaching wards of our historic Charity Hospital and has made a significant contribution to medicine during their career. Thanks for joining us as we celebrated Dr. Raju Thomas, Friday, November 5th! Photos from the event festivities.

DONATE to support the event mission and win a Private Sfoglino Chef Dinner for Eight.

2020 - 1998 Award Winners

Thanks to our 2021 Sponsors!


Defining Quality

  • Joint Commission National Quality Approval Award
    The Gold Seal of Approval® is a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to providing safe and effective patient care.
  • American College of Surgeons: Verified Trauma Center
    The Norman E. McSwain, Jr, MD, Spirit of Charity Trauma Center only verified Level 1 Trauma Center in South Louisiana.
  • City Business - Best Places to Work
    The Comprehensive Pulmonary Hypertension Center (CPHC) at University Medical Center New Orleans was awarded top-tier accreditation from the Pulmonary Hypertension Association (PHA).
  • PHA Center of Comprehensive Care Award
    University Medical Center New Orleans is an Advanced Primary Stroke Center with a full stroke team on call 24/7 to immediately care for patients with stroke symptoms.
  • American Heart Association and American Stroke Association Primary Stroke Center
  • Commission on Cancer Accedited Program logo
    The American Heart Association/American Stroke Association award recognizes the hospital’s commitment and success ensuring that stroke patients receive the most appropriate treatment according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence.
  • Commission on Cancer Accedited Program logo
    University Medical Center has been designated an Antimicrobial Stewardship Center of Excellence by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (ISDA).